Can we save the whales?

A pertinent question as they head up the coast with their babies … I hate the idea of them becoming sushi. Besides I just heard that their poo is iron rich, and it feeds plankton, thus reducing carbon levels and feeding the fish, who seem to be in ever dwindling numbers … so I’ve signed this petition from Avaaz. It only took a few seconds … you might like to sign it too …

Meanwhile … it was a gorgeous weekend on the beach …

Newport Beach Saturday 19 June 2010

Saturday morning ... sea squirts get some sun

Newport Beach 20 June 2010

An early swimmer bolts for the surf club change room ...

There’s a marked difference between week days and weekends … so much activity on the latter … I know exactly how this chap on the left feels as he races for the change room post-swim …

Then there are the joggers …

Newport Beach Saturday 19 June 2010

I interrupted Peter's jog to take this snap

I interrupted Newport local activist Peter Middleton’s run to ask how the Newport versus Woollies group, (striving to save our shopping village from a massive and inappropriate development) is faring.

He told me they are having some success and are feeling moderately optimistic … here’s hoping …

Newport Beach Sunday 20 June 2010

Too expensive ...

Various types of fishermen were out … the comedian types who ask for twenty bucks to pose … (left)

And the more serious ones who thoughtfully arrange themselves on a rock shelves long enough for me to get a few shots … (below)

Weekend Morning Stats:

Temperature: Around 11 or 12ºC both days with almost zero wind which made getting undressed for my swim a lot more pleasant.

Newport Beach Saturday 19 June 2010

Rock fishermen ...

Pool: Abandoned it for the surf on Saturday, but returned on Sunday. Water crystal clear but quite a bit of weed …

Me: Feeling great

Tide: Low

Moon: Up to a quarter now … I used to think of it as a half …

Surf: Practically zero

Wildlife: A lone pelican, sea squirts visible on the rocks because of the low low tide (see the shot at top of blog).

Here is another reason why I’m enjoying my blog quest …Newport Beach Saturday 19 June 2010And now I have to admit that I didn’t swim today … didn’t even get to the beach. I slept in and then one thing led to another until … it was too late. Oops.

This entry was posted in Beach People, Environment, Fishing, Missed swims and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can we save the whales?

  1. Nikole Hahn says:

    As usual…great pics. Great blog.

  2. Peter McKinnon says:

    I think that a well managed , sustainable harvest of whales to meet the needs of those people who absolutely have to eat whalemeat, is a sound idea.
    The concept of more whales saving us from our devastation of the atmosphere and of the ocean, by encouraging them to crap more, is perhaps in the province of fantasy. The only way we will reduce our pollution of the air we need to breathe is to cut back on our incessant demands for fossil fuel products – fuel, perfume, plastics, glad wrap ……
    We can help the oceans by reducing the muck we send down to the oceans and by insisting that our governments tertiary treat all sewage and capture storm run-off.
    In a round about sort of way this will help the whales too – they’ll have less muck to swim round in and hopefully be healthier for it.
    Probably what we need to do is to clean up our own disgusting behaviour and let the whale poo do its bit!!

  3. beachblogger says:

    I’m with you there on pollution (see my June 3 post) but honestly I think there are very few on this earth who absolutely must eat whale meat to survive, and I refuse to believe the Japanese sushi market caters to those few …

Leave a comment