A startling discovery …

I’m braver than I thought I was.

Newport Beach 30 June 2010

Everyone was seriously rugged up this a.m.

Newport’s water temperature is actually colder than the temperatures I’ve been collecting from Manly Hydraulics Laboratory …

Barry (see yesterday’s photo) took Gavin’s water thermometer into the surf and it turns out it’s 17º,  not 19º as I’ve been posting.

But on the other hand I’m not that brave because this morning I didn’t go in …

It was partly a time factor, or that’s what I’m telling myself. Had to get to work on time. The swim doesn’t take all that long, but removing and then replacing all those layers of clothing before and after takes about half an hour …

This Morning’s Stats:

Temperature: 5ºC Brrrrrrrr!!!!!

Actually, it’s not the temperature on the beach that’s the problem.

Newport Beach 30 June 2010

Looks like he's not enjoying the water...

It’s the temperature at home, while I’m blogging … my office is like an ice cube.

Sand: Kept my kayaking shoes on … sensible move

Pool: No wonder I went numb and couldn’t move last Friday after my laps. It’s 2 or 3º colder than 17º

Me: Feeling great. Need a swim soon …

Tide: Low

Moon: See pic below

Wildlife:  Even the seagulls looked cold

Newport Beach 30 June 2010

Moon hides behind a Norfolk pine

This entry was posted in Beach People, Missed swims and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A startling discovery …

  1. sarah says:

    Well I thought it couldn’t be that much warmer in Newport. It’s been around 16 degrees in the water her for the last week or so…

    • beachblogger says:

      Yup, but thinking it was warmer worked for me in a way, made me more confident about going in.
      Not sure what psychological prop I’m going to be able to lean on now I know the truth …

  2. Nikole Hahn says:

    Sounds fantastic! My husband wouldn’t go into the water though. I might. He…no way.

Leave a comment